GoreGames

I’m not sure why, but I still find myself drawn to TimeSplitters: Future Perfect for the PS2.  Few give me the unadulterated satisfaction of blasting off, or clubbing, zombie heads as TimeSplitters: FP.  Two levels was all it was worth, but still, they were two freakin’ great levels.

Best and worst zombie games?  For me, I have to say the most intense and complete I’ve played is the “infected zombie” thriller Resident Evil 4 for the PS2.  I can’t help it.  I was freaking out the whole time I played the game.  Was intense, challenging, and you felt like you accomplished something just to survive a “zombie” onslaught.

Worst: I have two because the first may be too obscure.  Infected for the PSP (I know few people actually have PSP’s and fewer still dust them off to play them, but I contend that there are good games for it.  However, Infected was not one of them… at all… it sucked… hard).  My second pick, Dead Rising.  I played this on the Wii, but I doubt the platform matters.  What a pointless and boring use of a great premise.  In fact, one of the greatest premises in zombie pop culture.  The game was monotonous and fully unsatisfying.  I don’t give up on games easily, but this was so bad, I just stopped trying.  No point.

Betty, Jud, readers…   Best and worst; bring it!

-Osiris

4 responses to “GoreGames

  1. Best Zombie Game: Zombies Ate My Neighbors on SNES – a run and gun game where the main dude wears 3d glasses and protects lame suburbanites from various monsters. Sure, each level has a different monster (including giant babies), so this game is not solely a zombie game – but you get to hop on a trampoline to get over hedges and that is enough to suffice me.

  2. Call me decrepit, but I prefer old school zombie games.

    * Smash TV (arcade)
    Sure, the hordes of bad guys chasing you down are never actually called “zombies,” but they sure do act/look like zombies. Smash TV is an awesome shoot ’em up that can only be surpassed in co-op zombie-killing fun by…

    * Zombies Ate My Neighbors (SNES)
    Has a more FUN zombie-battling game EVER been made??! This game is a must-have for zombie (AND video game) fans. Dig out your old Super Nintendo or Sega Genesis, go to the used video game store, or buy it on Wii’s Virtual Console. Seriously, do it now!

    * Resident Evil 2 (PS/N64)
    This game still scares the crap out of me! The sequel improved upon the already great original Resident Evil and showed the world what zombie/survival-horror video-gaming could achieve.

    Honorable Mentions:
    * Ghosts ‘n Goblins (NES)
    Great game…but RIDICULOUSLY hard!

    * Zombie Nation (NES)
    A disembodied samurai head pukes on zombies…bizarre, difficult, and strangely intriguing…

  3. Wow, I guess Knowwuh is lost in the 90’s and Betty has barricaded herself in with the Angry Video Game Nerd.

    Seriously, Zombies Ate My Neighbors?! You poor creatures. Come into the new millennium. I take back my DeadRising bash after playing Zombies Ate My Neighbors. I’d rather wander the mall running down zombies with an umbrella or shopping car than having to blow-up annoying axe-wielding midgets with pop cans. I have to give it some points for ridiculousness, but seriously, I take issue with putting it in a Top 5.

    To be fair, I saw Zombies Ate My Neighbors on a lot of Top Ten lists, which baffles me. I’ve got to believe this game is a sickness, a plague, much like the Solanum virus. We can only pray there is a cure…

  4. I prefer the games in which the zombies destroy the humans à la “Stubbs the Zombie in Rebel Without a Pulse.” Mmmmm. Brain-eating goodness on my Mac.

Leave a Reply

